Coda

July 25, 2008 at 6:02 am 1 comment

I must apologize to my keen readers who I have no doubt have been wondering what had transpired since my last correspondence. It might come as a great disappointment to some of you that the rumour of me spending four weeks writing a social apocalyptical novel where humanity is forced by an exploding star to relocate is a complete fabrication. On the contrary, my untimely hiatus has been the consequence of a separation and formation of attachment of an affectionate nature, which is to me a source of both melancholy and contentment.

The sharp-witted ones among you would certainly recall the swap of roles between Geofrey and I about one month ago. To be sure, letting go of Web-CAT is heart-breaking, given the weeks I spent with it. On the other hand, working with Java/SWT in Eclipse and doodling UI designs is a welcome change.

I’ve spent the last month building on top of Geofrey’s unfinished prototype, and the progress has been absolutely gratifying, with a small but key exception. The WebAPI component of Web-CAT server which is the prerequisite for the plugin to converse with the server, has yet to be updated in 4 weeks. The current implementation of the API, allowing logging in and loading of assignment info, is incomplete. With most of the GUI already in place, little work has being done on the API and some of the related backend model. We had hoped that Stephen would be able to complete more of the WebAPI component for our using, however clearly he was not expecting to work so closely by our schedule. In our initial correspondence regarding the plugin project he did mention that presently they do not have the manpower or time to implement such a component.

The plugin is far from fully functional in its current form, so it’s my best interest that some enterprising individual (from Virginia Tech probably, as we just decided not to use Web-CAT at UofT) would be willing to finish it. In two weeks the project will come to a coda, my intention is to clean up the existing code and prepare documentation so that the person who inherits it would be able to set it up with the effortlessness that is much in wanting of with Web-CAT itself.

Entry filed under: Eclipse, Web-CAT.

Group Think Show’n’Tell

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Quon  |  July 25, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    For the benefit of simple-minded folks like myself, I’ve translated the first paragraph into plain English:

    Sorry to my keen readers. I know you’ve been wondering what happened since the last update. There were rumours that I was writing a disaster novel where people are forced to escape. To your disappointment, that’s not how I spent my last four weeks. However, I was away because I fell in love. It made me happy and sad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Time Machine

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

RSS Qi’s Utterances

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

